New Zealand Sign Language

  • Director's update September 2015

    From our first words when we are only a few months old to our final goodbyes, words are a powerful connection to those around us. Our language is intrinsically linked to our cultural identity, our customs, beliefs and our heritage.

    New Zealand has three official languages – Māori, English and New Zealand sign language but many more languages are spoken in this country.  According to the latest census, the six most commonly spoken languages are English, te reo Māori, Samoan, Hindi, Northern Chinese and French.

  • Types of Interpreting

    Consecutive or simultaneous, sign language, through relay - the choice is yours.