Organisational Structure

The Office of Ethnic Affairs was launched in May 2001 and is part of Internal Affairs. On 2 March 2015 the name changed to the Office of Ethnic Communities to align with the ministerial portfolio.

Our Director is Anita Balakrishnan. The Office of Ethnic Communities is made up of two teams: Community Engagement and Planning, Systems and Services.

Keep up to date with our projects and ethnic diversity issues by subscribing to our contact list. Email Please provide your name, contact phone number, your region and an email address.

Community Engagement team

This team engages with ethnic communities to identify their perspectives on government activity and/or facilitate government consultation; with government agencies, to provide grounded community intelligence on policy and service development; and with other key stakeholders such as local government and business groups. This team safeguards and exhibits our intention that “community engagement is at the heart of the Office of Ethnic Communities”.

Planning, Systems and Services team

This team oversees business planning, accountability reporting, systems development and maintenance. It also manages and delivers some direct services including the Nominations Service and the Ethnic Communities Development Fund. The team provides the Office with administrative support, expertise in navigating various Department of Internal Affairs processes, and manages stakeholder engagement channels. It also monitors and reports against the strategic goals and focus areas of our work programme.

We report to the Deputy Chief Executive Policy, Regulation and Communities at the Department of Internal Affairs. Through the Department, the Office of Ethnic Communities contributes to broader public sector efforts to deliver on government goals. In particular, we contribute to shaping Safer Communities Initiatives and empowering ethnic communities to succeed and contribute.

Our Minister for Ethnic Communities is Hon Jenny Salesa.

Corporate Publications

You can find information about the Office of Ethnic Communities in Flourishing ethnic diversity; thriving New Zealand - Strategic Direction and Intent 2016 - 2020 or in the Internal Affairs’ Statement of Intent and the Annual Report. 

Information provided to incoming Ministers about the Ethnic Communities portfolio can also be found on the Internal Affairs website at the Briefings to Incoming Ministers page.

Employment Opportunities

To find out about employment opportunities at the Office of Ethnic Communities, please visit the Department of Internal Affairs Vacancies.

Official Information Act Request

To make an Official Information Act request, please follow the process as set out on the Internal Affairs website.