Welcoming Communities

Image of children on a step with their hands in the air

Welcoming Communities is a two year pilot programme established by Immigration New Zealand in partnership with the Department of Internal Affairs, Office of Ethnic Communities and the Human Rights Commission.  The initiative brings together local government and community leadership to make the places we live more welcoming for everyone.

The initiative aims to foster a sense of belonging and participation for receiving communities as well as new and emerging communities.

The Councils can opt to become accredited as a ‘Welcoming Community’ by meeting the Welcoming Communities Standard. The programme is being piloted in Ashburton, Tauranga/Western Bay of Plenty, Southland, Whanganui and Palmerston North Councils and the draft standards have been tested with these communities.

On 7 August 2017, a public consultation document on the Welcome Communities Standards will be released, requesting feedback on the draft Standard. Submissions close on 22 September 2017. Further information will be available on the Immigration Website.